San Benito Veterans Memorial Academy and San Benito High School students in grades nine through twelve are afforded the opportunity to enroll in the Naval Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Program.

The award-winning program promotes the values of patriotism, selfless service and personal responsibility, and a sense of personal accomplishment. The program empowers cadets to develop leadership skills as well as personal discipline, honor and self-reliance.

The school district’s NJROTC Program is well-recognized for their drill team performances, contributing thousands of hours towards community service and school support, and feeding local families through their canned food and monetary donation drives.

Recently, the local NJROTC Program completed its annual military inspection.

The cadets and their instructors – Senior Naval Science Instructor Captain Nels Swanson and Naval Science Instructors Chief Jesus Gaytan and Chief Timothy Wilson – had dedicated long hours preparing for the annual event.

According to Swanson, “This was a day set aside where cadets took extra pride in performing their armed and unarmed drill team performances.”

“It was also a day during which select cadets were recognized for their dedication and hard work,” he added.

This year’s guest inspector, Lieutenant Commander (LCDR) Christopher Labissiere, United States Navy, the Commanding Officer of Navy Operational Support Center in Harlingen, conducted the inspection. In attendance were special guests that included parents, instructors, San Benito CISD Superintendent of Schools Dr. Adrian Vega, and campus administrators, including San Benito High School Principal Henry Sanchez, and San Benito Veterans Memorial Academy Principal Gilbert Galvan.

At the conclusion of the inspection, LCDR Labissiere presented individual Bravo Zulu medals to the deserving cadets.

“Bravo Zulu,” or BZ, is a naval signal that means “well done.”

San Benito Veterans Memorial Academy freshmen earning Bravo Zulu medals include: Jimmy Gonzalez, Stephanie Cantu, Joann Rosas, Marilyn Cardoza, Nyisa Soria, Michael Torres, Lillian Salazar, Victoria Hernandez, Perla Gallegos, Robert Gault, Ivan Corona, Ailin Beltran, and Abigail Rafael.

San Benito High School students earning Bravo Zulu medals include: Yessenia Soto, Luis Canales, Joshua Medina, Jose Alcantar, Kassandra Cavazos, Tamara Davila, Jose L. Gonzalez, Omar Escandon, Evangelina Garcia, Nivia Gonzalez, Lizbeth Morales, Raquel Merida, Myrandra Mata, Gabriel Ortega, Ishna Nachie, and Luis Ramirez.

For additional information about the district’s NJROTC program, please call 956-361-6500 Ext. 2881 or 276-6075.