Seeking advisors to help Valley coastline

HARLINGEN — Texas General Land Office Commissioner George P. Bush is looking for applicants to join the new Commissioner’s Coastal Resiliency Advisory Group.

“It’s great to see the State reaching out to the stakeholders who live and work along the Texas coast,” said Eduardo A. Campirano, Port Director & CEO, Port of Brownsville.

“The Port of Brownsville has long been active in past discussions on coastal planning and resiliency.”

Campirano said this advisory committee is a great example of a way to balance economic development and sensible conservation.

“When we make decisions at the GLO that impact the coastal regions of our great state, I want the input of folks whose daily life is directly tied to promoting a dynamic coastal economy and protecting our shared heritage for generations to come,” Bush said in a press release.

Bush is looking for three of 15 advisory members to be from the Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties.

“We look forward to submitting an application,” Campirano said.

Applicants must be an elected or government official from a county or municipality.

The second will be a representative from a coastal conservation or regional planning organization.

The third will be a representative from a regional port or member of the coastal business community.

The advisory group members will serve two-year terms.

For the rest of this story and many other EXTRAS, go to our premium site,

Subscribe to it for only $6.99 per month or purchase a print subscription and receive the online version free, which includes an electronic version of the full newspaper and extra photo galleries, links and other information you can’t find anywhere else.


Three members will be selected from each of the five coastal regions of the Regional Councils of Government (COGs).

These regions include the following counties:

– Region 15: Hardin, Jefferson and Orange

– Region 16: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, Wharton

– Region 17: Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, Victoria

– Region 20: Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleburg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio

– Region 21: Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy