School and city election slated for Saturday

HARLINGEN — The polling places will open at 7 a.m. on Saturday for you to cast your vote for city and school board elections.

Voters will elect the mayor and a city commissioner for District 2. Two candidates are running for Harlingen school board trustee Place 7.

In the race for Harlingen mayor, incumbent Chris Boswell, an attorney, faces former city commissioner Jerry Prepejchal, businessman Kenneth Benton and retired police officer and private investigator Joe Rubio.

Two candidates are running to fill the seat vacated by long-time school board member Verna Young.

Rosalinda Mercado-Garza, 39, and Eladio Jaimez, 39, are campaigning for Place 7 in the school board election.

Incumbent Greg Powers, Place 3, is running unopposed.

In Rio Hondo, voters must decide if they are for or against issuing $20,000,000 in bonds to finance purchasing land, construction and equipment for school buildings.

In Port Isabel, voters will decide on a mayor and two commissioners.

J.J. Zamora and Maria de Jesus Garza are running for mayor. Martin Cantu Jr. and Michelle A. Barreiro and vying for city commissioner Place 1 and Carmen Rios and Mario Tamayo are vying for city commissioner Place 2.

In La Feria voters will decide between Jose Zunga and Dori Lee for city commissioner Position 1.

In the school district election, voters will decide whether the district can issue $14,000,000 in bonds build and equip new school facilities. The money would also be used to demolish existing buildings.

Santa Maria voters will decide whether the school district can issue $9,410,000 to build new schools.

In the Lyford city election there are four open seats. The candidates are Tony Chavez, Maggie Quilantan, Jose G. (Wally) Solis, Albert Cavazos and Rick Salinas.

The Texas Southmost College election is for three Board of Trustees.

Antonio Juarez, J.J. de Leon, Evelyn Cantu and Tony Zavaleta are vying for Place 3.

Beatriz Hockaday and Trey Mendez are opponents for Place 4 and Daniel Pizana and Ruben Herrera and vying for Place 5.

The Port of Brownsville Navigation District is also holding an election.

Ralph Cown and Raul F. Villanueva are vying for navigation and canal commissioner Place 1.

John Reed is unopposed for Place 3 and Patrick Anderson, Sergio Tito Lopez and Ed Rivera and vying for navigation and canal commissioner Place 5.

The polls are open Saturday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.