Willacy County voters to decide DA, commissioner, constable races

RAYMONDVILLE — Willacy County voters go the polls today to cast early ballots in the May 24 run-off election in which District Attorney Bernard Ammerman faces with attorney Annette Hinojosa and longtime County Commissioner Fred Serrato squares off Lyford Mayor Henry De La Paz.

Ammerman, who first won election in 2008, said he is running on his record as a prosecutor who helped bring down the county’s crime rate to a 10-year low, slashing violent crime by 43 percent.

Hinojosa, a longtime Raymondville attorney, served as a public defender in state District court, where she has represented defendants prosecuted by Ammerman.

Serrato, first elected to the commission in 1985, served through 2004, when he chose not to seek re-election. Serrato returned to office in 2008.

De La Paz has served as Lyford’s mayor since 2009, after serving as a city commissioner.

Three incumbents are vying for their seats in contested races for constables’ posts.

In the race for Precinct 1’s badge, incumbent Alberto Oviedo Jr. faces Carlos Ybarra, a criminal justice teacher.

Incumbent Hector Tijerina faces Michael Mesa, a mounted patrol inspector, and Jose Salazar, a peace officer, for Precinct 2’s constable’s seat.

In the race for Precinct 3’s constable’s post, incumbent Ben Vera faces Miguel Sanchez, a police officer.