SAN BENITO – Two teachers will go up against many others as they compete for the titles of Texas Teacher of the Year.

Last month, Dr. Raul Garza Jr. Elementary teacher Melissa De Leon and Berta Cabaza Middle School teacher Cynthia Manrrique, along with several of their peers were named teachers of the year for the San Benito school district.

Each year one teacher from the elementary and secondary level are chosen to compete among the hundreds in the state.

Judging will take place at the end of summer and 40 semifinalists will be chosen.

The final two winners will be named in the fall at an award ceremony in Austin.