UTRGV dean to head airport board

HARLINGEN — UTRGV business school dean Mark Kroll has been selected as chair of the Valley International Airport board.

Kroll, dean of the Robert C. Vackar College of Business Entrepreneurship, is a professor of management at the school and oversees business curriculums at both the Brownsville and Edinburg campuses.

Kroll has been a member of the VIA Board for four years.

“When Mayor (Chris) Boswell asked me to serve on the airport board, I was excited to accept the challenge because aviation is a truly fascinating business and pivotal to the growth of the Rio Grande Valley,” Kroll said.

“The airport administration covers so many areas of responsibility that I never stop learning something new with regards to the 24/7 operation that we proudly carry out at VIA.”

Kroll assumed the deanship of the business school in 2011.

He received his bachelor’s and master’s from Sam Houston State University, and his doctorate from Mississippi State University.

Members of the VIA Board are appointed by the Harlingen mayor. The current board consists of Chair Pro-Tem Julie Ezell-Perez; Ricky Leal; Vickie Moore; Tito Resendez; Nick Consiglio; Richard Franke; Rolando Rubiano; and Craig F. Lonon.