Meet and greet the candidates in San Benito

SAN BENITO —Community members will get their opportunity next week to meet local candidates running in the upcoming election.

The San Benito Chamber of Commerce will be hosting a meet and greet with the candidates for the San Benito Consolidated Independent School District Board and the City Commission on Thursday, April 20, at 6 p.m.

Four seats are up for grabs in the school district. Election Day is May 6.

Orlando “Papas” Lopez and Chon Lopez Jr. will run against each other in the race for the Board of Trustees Place Four.

Retired teacher Mary Lou Garcia will run against Mario Silva in the race for Place Five.

Incumbent Oscar Medrano will run against Mario Silva in the race for Place Six.

Former city commissioner Joe D. Gonzalez will run against incumbent Angel Mendez for Place Seven.

Meanwhile, four positions are open on the city’s ballot.

In the city’s regular election, positions on the ballot include those held by Mayor Celeste Sanchez, Place 1 City Commissioner Tony Gonzales and Place 2 Commissioner Rene Villafranco.

Sanchez will go up against Ben Gomez in the race for mayor while Gonzales will go up against Joe F. Rodriguez and Villafranco will try to beat out Fernando Mendez, Jr. and Ricardo Robles Rodriguez.

In a special election for commissioner Place Four Pilar Sanchez will run against Carol Lynn Sanchez.

Sanchez, the San Benito school districts’ former assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction, won election in 2014, becoming the first woman to win the city’s top elected position.

Gonzales, a retired post office clerk, and Villafranco, who works for U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, won their seats in special elections in 2010.

The event will take place at the Super 8 Motel Las Palmas Conference Room, located at 2340 W. Expressway 83.

The election is May 6. Early voting begins Monday, April 24, and ends Tuesday, May 2.



Celeste Z. Sanchez

Ben Gomez

Commissioner Place 1

Joe F. Rodriguez

Tony Gonzalez

Commissioner Place 2

Fernando Mendez, Jr.

Rene Villafranco

Ricardo Robles Rodriguez

Commissioner Place 4

Pilar Sanchez

Carol Lynn Sanchez


Trustee Place 4

Orlando “Papas” Lopez

Chon Lopez Jr.

Trustee Place 5

Mary Lou Garcia

Mario Silva

Trustee Place 6

Oscar Medrano

Victor Rosas

Trustee Place 7

Joe D. Gonzalez

Angel Mendez


WHAT: Candidate Meet and Greet

WHEN: Thursday, April 20, at 6 p.m.

WHERE: Super 8 Motel Las Palmas Conference Room, 2340 W. Expressway 83

WHY: Meet candidates for City Commission and School Board in San Benito