A ‘Night in Little Havana’: Harlingen Chamber of Commerce to host 2017 Annual Awards Banquet

HARLINGEN — The Harlingen Chamber of Commerce will host its 2017 A Night in Little Havana Annual Awards Banquet at the TSTC Cultural Arts Center on Thursday, Oct. 19.

The program of activities will begin at 6 p.m. with a mix and mingle cocktail hour. A catered banquet will follow at 6:30 p.m.

John Sharp, Chancellor of the Texas A&M University System, will be the evening’s special guest and keynote speaker.

“The 2017 Annual Awards Banquet is a great event to recognize the folks and businesses that make a real difference in Harlingen,” said Chamber Vice President, Vanessa Camacho. “The Chamber is also thrilled to host John Sharp as the keynote speaker for the evening.”

As Chancellor of The Texas A&M University System, Sharp leads one of the nation’s largest university systems, including 11 universities and seven state agencies. He has served in this position since Sept. 6, 2011.

Sharp has spent more than three decades in public service.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from Texas A&M University in 1972, where he was student body president and a member of the Corps staff of the Corps of Cadets.

Upon graduation, he was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the United States Army Reserves.

In 1976, while working full-time with the Legislative Budget Board in Austin, Sharp received a master’s degree in public administration from Southwest Texas State University.

In 1978, he was elected to the Texas House of Representatives and was named “Outstanding Freshman” by Texas Monthly.

He won a seat in the Texas Senate in 1982, where he served on the powerful Senate Finance Committee, and was elected to the Texas Railroad Commission in 1986. He was elected state comptroller in 1990 and re-elected in 1994.

The evening will celebrate another year of accomplishments and present four prestigious awards: The Ambassador of the Year Award, Heritage Award, Directors’ Award and the Chairman’s Small Business Award.

The Director’s Award was created in 1997 and was developed to recognize individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to the Chamber effort.

The Heritage Award, created in 1998, was developed to recognize the lifetime achievements of individuals in the community.

This will be the fourth year for the Chairman’s Small Business Award which will recognize a business for its outstanding accomplishments.

Title Sponsor for the 2017 Annual Awards Banquet is SpawGlass. “Cubanito” Sponsors include: Boggus Ford, United Capital Financial Life Management and the UTRGV School of Medicine.


WHAT: Harlingen Chamber of Commerce 2017 Annual Awards Banquet

WHEN: Thursday, Oct. 19, starting at 6 p.m.

WHERE: TSTC Cultural Arts Center, 1825 N. Loop 499, Harlingen

WHY: To celebrate the best of business with the Chamber

HOW: For sponsorship opportunities or to purchase tickets please email Chamber Vice President, Vanessa Camacho, at vgcamacho@harlingen.com or call 956-423-5440. Individual tickets are $65 and reserved tables of eight are $500 for Chamber members.