2017 Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients honored

BY Amanda Sotelo

Four 2017 Texas State Technical College Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients based in Harlingen were honored this week with a luncheon hosted by TSTC Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer Mike Reeser.

“Today we celebrate you,” Reeser told the honorees. “It is your proven leadership and character that have earned you this honor. You are the best of the best at TSTC.”

During the luncheon, several TSTC administrators and past Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients celebrated the awardees: Wind Energy Technology Instructor Juan Alferez, Building Maintenance Supervisor Roberto Chapa, Vice President of Enrollment Services Dr. Christine Stuart-Carruthers and Veteran Program Officer Jose Villegas.

The four were recognized earlier in the year for their achievements at the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development Awards Dinner and Celebration in Austin, joining the legacy of more than 200 TSTC recipients.

“I am in ’aww’ to be in your presence,” said Harlingen Interim Provost Rick Herrera. “And I take this time not only to congratulate you, but also to commend you on your hard work and success.”

Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients are chosen based on nominations from colleagues, as well as their character, hard work, and dedication to the college and its students.

Reeser mentioned that this award represents leadership and the respect colleagues have for each other, regardless of position or title.

“This award has meaning because it’s given to a person of great character,” said Reeser. “And when a person of great character sets out to do something, you get greatness and a habit of excellence.”

Herrera and Reeser went on to thank all recipients, past and present, for their continued commitment to the college.

“Each and every one of our recipients embodies and exemplifies TSTC’s mission,” said Herrera. “We appreciate everything they do for our college and our students. They’ve applied excellence in all they do.”

Reeser has made it a priority to host honoree luncheons at every TSTC campus to share with attendees the significance of the award and its importance to the college.

This year there were 14 TSTC Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients statewide.

Reeser closed the luncheon on this note: “On behalf of the TSTC administration, faculty, staff and students, we thank you with all of our hearts. Keep up the great work, and I am honored to be on the same team as you.”