‘Zero Crew’ praised for exceptional season

The Miller Jordan Middle School (MJMS) seventh grade football team, known as the “Zero Crew,” was recently recognized by the San Benito CISD Board of Trustees. Under the leadership of MJMS coaches Lamar Lewis and Rene Rodriguez, and Coach Julius Pardo, a teacher at Fred Booth Elementary, the Zero Crew takes great pride in its undefeated season with zero points allowed.

“Over the years, Miller Jordan football has had its share of outstanding teams and special players. This season, the seventh-grade football team had its own banner year as they completed the season as undefeated district champions, explained Coach Lewis. “Their defense did not allow a single point all season long!”

The undefeated team consisted of the following players:

Alejandro Baldelamar, Alex Martinez, Alfredo Mendoza, Andres Cavazos, Angel Ayala, Anthony Gonzalez, Cesar Monsivaiz, Ethan Lugo, Jaime Samaniego, Jonathan Gonzalez, Josiah Zavala, Kevin Gonzalez, Leonard Machuca, Malachi Maldonado, Manuel Cavazos, Marcelino Garcia, Marco Garcia, Miguel Gonzalez, Nathan Flores, Nicholas Garcia, Noe Zavala, Nova Bejaran, Ramiro Hernandez, Ricky Perez, Robert Treviño, Rodney Rodriguez, and Rudy Solis. The team’s student trainers were Karmyne Castilleja and Samuel Moreno.

MJMS Principal Fred Perez is extremely proud of this seventh-grade football group.

“The hard work and dedication that these young men and their coaches exhibited during the season paid off. Not only do their talents show on the field but in their classrooms. We are all excited to see these students grow and are confident in what’s to come for these outstanding athletes,” said Perez.