SBHS holds ceremony to honor top scholars - Valley Morning Star : San Benito CISD

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

SBHS holds ceremony to honor top scholars

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, May 29, 2017 9:41 pm

San Benito High School held a special ceremony to honor top academic achievers during a recent event, the Class of 2017 Scholars Ceremony.

Dr. Yvette Cantu, the district’s Higher Education Coordinator, explained that the event served to honor students who demonstrated superior and advanced achievement in high school.

“Students recognized included Top Ten, AP Scholars, National Hispanic Recognition Scholars, and students who earned College Credit hours through our partner institutions,” Cantu said. “Students were given stoles and/or honor cords to wear on graduation night to distinguish them for their achievement.”

School officials, including Principal Henry Sanchez and his administrative staff, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Adrian Vega and Executive Directors, and district Trustees recognized the following students:

Recognition of Top Ten Honor Graduates

- Valedictorian: Larisa M. Garcia

- Salutatorian: Ileen Jade Montemayor

- Third Honor Student: Juan Carlos Sosa Hernandez

- Fourth Honor Student: Christopher Eli Guerrero

- Fifth Honor Student: Jose Luis Rivera, Jr.

- Sixth Honor Student: Elizabeth Hernandez-Medina

- Seventh Honor Student: Daniela Isabel Lopez

- Eighth Honor Student: Angela Rose Nuñez

- Ninth Honor Student: Anahi Anaya

- Tenth Honor Student: McKayla R. Guerra

Recognition of Advanced Placement Scholars

The AP Program recognizes high school students who have demonstrated outstanding college-level achievement through AP courses and exams with the AP Scholar Awards as noted below:

- AP Scholar recognition is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams: Christopher Hernandez-Contreras, Daniela Isabel Lopez, and Ileen Jade Montemayor.

- AP Scholar with Honor recognition is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams: Jose Luis Rivera, Jr..

- AP Scholar with Distinction recognition is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams: Juan Carlos Sosa Hernandez.

Recognition of National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

The College Board identifies the highest scoring Hispanic high school students who take the PSAT exam nationwide. Honorees include: Seve Lopez, Ileen Jade Montemayor, and Jose Luis Rivera, Jr.

Recognition of College Credit Scholars

Students listed below have earned college credit through successful completion of Dual Enrollment coursework and/or Advanced Placement exam performance.

Class of 2017 Dual Enrollment coursework has included partnerships with the following institutions: Texas A&M University-Kingsville, The University of Texas at Austin, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, and Texas State Technical College.

Gold Level Scholars have earned between 10 – 19 college credit hours:

- Pauline Abrego

- Cinthia Arreola

- Amairin Beltran

- Yessenia Bernabe

- Ruth Cardenas

- Jaylene Contreras

- Evelyn Davila

- Ydaliah Delgado

- Amber Escamilla

- Bailee Escobedo

- Gabriela Gamez

- Carlos Garza

- Priscilla Hinojosa

- Juan Huerta

- Fabian Izaguirre

- Callysta Jalomo

- Amry Lopez

- Caitlyn Lopez

- Marc Lopez

- Anai Luna

- Monica Martinez

- Pamela Martinez

- Vivian Martinez

- Maria Medellin

- Bianca Moreno

- Nathaniel Naranjo

- Katherine Ortega

- Diandra Padilla

- Jackeline Perez

- Antonio Quintanilla

- Lizbeth Reta

- H Richard Reza

- Yvonne Salinas

- Saul Soundara

- Laura Torres

- Naisa Trevino

- Victoria Vasquez

Purple Level Scholars have earned between 20 - 29 college credit hours:

- Sarahi Cardoza

- Selena Castro

- Rene Chapa

- Daniela Colmenero

- Kimberly Coronado

- Samuel Esparza

- Pricsilla Esquivel

- Jose Galvan

- Erika Garcia

- Natalie Garcia

- Nerissa Garza

- Amanda Gomez

- Hannah Juarez

- Janeth Leal

- Floresthela Lemus

- Valeria Lerma

- Thania Lopez

- Clarissa Montoya

- Paola Palacios

- Ernest Quintanilla

- Ella Quintero

- Angelina Valenzuela

Purple and Gold Level Scholars have earned 30 or more college credit hours:

- Bianca Alvarado

- Anahi Anaya

- Jonah Barrera

- Kristina Cardenas

- Gustavo de la Fuente

- Alicia Escamilla

- Cecilia Flores

- Eric Galvan

- Damian Garcia

- Dominique Garcia

- Elliana Garcia

- Iridiana Garcia

- Larisa Garcia

- Larissa Guerra

- Viviana Garza

- McKayla Guerra

- Christopher Guerrero

- Natali Hernandez

- Christopher Hernandez-Contreras

- Elizabeth Hernandez-Medina

- George Hobbs

- Yaniecy Jimenez

- Daniela Lopez

- Gustavo Lora

- Bryan Manzanares

- Exiquio Mares

- Erika Mendez

- Kirsten Mendez

- Angela Nuñez

- Jovannah Ortiz

- Eslie Pacheco

- Teresa Padron

- Jesus Pedraza-Banda

- Caleb Perez

- Evelyn Prado Serrato

- Alyna Reyes

- Jose Rivera

- Daniela Rubio

- Arturo Sanchez

- Erik Solis

- Juan Carlos Sosa Hernandez

- Keila Valdes

- Rene Garcia

- Ruben Mendez

- Maria Villagomez

- Ileen Montemayor

Online poll

More Events

Pet Central


Having a pet is a lot of responsibility, and we’ll help by giving you lots of tips and tricks! More >>



Our fitness articles will help teach you how to work out with gym- and home-based exercises. More >>



Enjoy the crosswords challenge in our free daily puzzles, from the harder Sunday crossword to the quicker daily. More >>



Every Sudoku has a unique solution that can be reached logically. Enter numbers into the blank spaces so that each row, column and 3x3 box contains the numbers 1 to 9. More >>