Valley Morning Star : Bill Reagan

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Bill Reagan

Latest Story

COMMENTARY: We stop and remember

We stopped. We remembered. We moved on.

  • icon Posted: September 16
rss

Recent Stories

Sunday 09/09/2018
COMMENTARY: You have the right to your say
Posted: September 09, 2018

This week’s outrage is Nike’s endorsement agreement with Colin Kaepernick, the former quarterback of the San Francisco 49ers. He is the face of Nike’s thirtieth “Just Do It” campaign, “Believe in something, even if it means sacrificing everything.”

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, September 9, 2018 12:21 pm.

Saturday 09/01/2018
It is the simple things
Posted: September 01, 2018

No native speaker of English evens thinks about it. Every native Spanish speaker struggles with this when they learn English. Aracely was embarrassed by her struggle to master this difficult aspect of English pronunciation.

Posted in Reagan on service on Saturday, September 1, 2018 11:30 pm.

Monday 08/27/2018
COMMENTARY: What is the right thing to do?
Posted: August 27, 2018

Believing the right thing and doing the right thing are not always the same thing.

Posted in Reagan on service on Monday, August 27, 2018 12:30 pm.

Sunday 08/19/2018
COMMENTARY: Politics is pretty rough business
Posted: August 19, 2018

One person wins. The other loses. When races heat up feelings are charged and passions lead many to state their positions forcefully and emotionally. Understandable.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, August 19, 2018 11:43 am.

Tuesday 08/07/2018
RGV Memories: Harlingen in the 50s
Posted: August 07, 2018

Theresa Geistman was born in Harlingen, and graduated from HHS in 1960.

Posted in Reagan on service on Tuesday, August 7, 2018 12:40 pm.

Sunday 08/05/2018
COMMENTARY: The importance of vacations
Posted: August 05, 2018

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.” (Mark Twain)

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, August 5, 2018 3:23 pm.

Sunday 05/27/2018
COMMENTARY: Recognizing Sister Norma’s work on immigration
Posted: May 27, 2018

Notre Dame University recently awarded the Laetare Medal to Sister Norma Pimentel, executive director of Catholic Charities of the Rio Grande Valley. The Laetare Medal is the highest honor an American Catholic can receive.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, May 27, 2018 11:32 am.

Sunday 05/20/2018
COMMENTARY: Every Christian is a servant in two kingdoms
Posted: May 20, 2018

Many Evangelicals support the establishment of the United States Embassy in Jerusalem. They believe the move fulfills Bible prophecy and fits into God’s plan for the End Times and the Second Coming of Jesus Christ.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, May 20, 2018 3:47 pm.

Sunday 05/13/2018
COMMENTARY: ‘Motherhood is sacred, a holy thing’
Posted: May 13, 2018

Motherhood is a sacred trust.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, May 13, 2018 10:36 am.

Sunday 05/06/2018
What is the real game of thrones?
Posted: May 06, 2018

Many of you have watched the immensely popular television series “Game of Thrones.” You might have read the books. There are five of them – five long books. I am almost finished with the fifth book. Fans are eagerly waiting the sixth installment of “A Game of Thrones” as the book series is known.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, May 6, 2018 10:37 am.

Sunday 04/29/2018
COMMENTARY: ‘Seeking Compassion’
Posted: April 29, 2018

Homeless people are used to being passed by, overlooked and criticized.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, April 29, 2018 10:09 am.

Sunday 04/22/2018
COMMENTARY: Our economy is not where it should be yet
Posted: April 22, 2018

Not in Cameron County, anyway. A recent report from the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics tells the story.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, April 22, 2018 2:22 pm.

Sunday 04/15/2018
Child abuse prevention month
Posted: April 15, 2018

April is Child Abuse Prevention Month. So is May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December, January, February and March.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, April 15, 2018 4:23 pm.

Monday 04/09/2018
COMMENTARY: Living the life of Christian faith is a bit challenging
Posted: April 09, 2018

It’s still Easter, you know.

Posted in Reagan on service on Monday, April 9, 2018 3:06 pm.

Sunday 04/01/2018
Run has rough start but mostly positive
Posted: April 01, 2018

The big news from last weekend’s Brownsville-Matamoros Binational Run was the collapse of the starting gate. It was pretty scary – missed my wife and me by about two feet. Several people were injured. The collapse made for a difficult start to an important event. The run is part of the Teletón fundraiser, a charity event benefitting handicapped children. The event is broadcast nationally in both the United States and Mexico.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, April 1, 2018 12:24 pm.

Sunday 03/25/2018
COMMENTARY: Thank you to those who serve our community
Posted: March 25, 2018

Every Spring, Loaves & Fishes holds a Style Show Fundraiser. The ladies enjoy a nice lunch and get a chance to see some of the latest fashions. Many of their husbands serve as celebrity waiters.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, March 25, 2018 11:31 am.

Sunday 03/18/2018
‘We should be clear eyed about fake news’
Posted: March 18, 2018

Fake news. The president complains about it. The Russians spread it on social media. This newspaper ran a front page article this past week to help readers identify it.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, March 18, 2018 1:29 pm.

Sunday 03/11/2018
The Church brings people together
Posted: March 11, 2018

This past Thursday the Harlingen community gathered for the Seventh Annual Mayor’s Prayer Breakfast. State Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. gave the invocation. The Senator noted how faith transcends politics. Mr. Lucio is a Democrat. Texas First Lady Cecilia Abbott, the keynote speaker, is a Republican. Mr. Lucio attends Mass at the same Austin Roman Catholic Church where Mrs. Abbott worships. They take Holy Communion together.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, March 11, 2018 11:56 am.

Sunday 03/04/2018
‘A Prophet with Honor’
Posted: March 04, 2018

The Reverend Doctor Billy Graham has died. He and Pope John Paul II were, without doubt the towering religious figures of the twentieth century, and among the great religious leaders of all ages.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, March 4, 2018 6:20 pm.

Sunday 02/25/2018
Finding solutions to gun violence
Posted: February 25, 2018

There has to be a solution, some kind of compromise, a way to prevent these senseless killings. Like so many other issues, the conversation around gun violence and gun control descends into name calling and ideological line drawing. Each side condemns the other without even listening to the other’s point of view.

Posted in Reagan on service on Sunday, February 25, 2018 10:57 am.

Online poll

Loading…

Local News

Online poll

Loading…
More Events

Pet Central

pets

Having a pet is a lot of responsibility, and we’ll help by giving you lots of tips and tricks! More >>

Fitness

Fitness

Our fitness articles will help teach you how to work out with gym- and home-based exercises. More >>

Crosswords

Crosswords

Enjoy the crosswords challenge in our free daily puzzles, from the harder Sunday crossword to the quicker daily. More >>

Sudoku

Sudoku

Every Sudoku has a unique solution that can be reached logically. Enter numbers into the blank spaces so that each row, column and 3x3 box contains the numbers 1 to 9. More >>